Rogue: Cal Marcius

Cal comes with an eyepatch and this ominous advice: when you’re doing DIY, wear goggles! I suspect some sort of caper behind this really…

Who’s your Rogue?

Something Rotten is about Barnes, a single father who wants nothing more than to live a quiet life with his son. He’s not a rogue as such, just a father who will do anything to protect the things that are close to him, at whatever cost.

What crime would you really want to get away with?

When it comes to children, wouldn’t we all like to be a little bit like Barnes?

What author can’t you do without?

Arthur Conan Doyle. Thanks to his Sherlock Holmes stories I became obsessed with reading mysteries, and later crime in all its many forms. My parents gave me a kid’s version of his collected stories when I was about nine, and my cousin and I would send each other letters as Holmes and Watson. Now, I read anything by Michael Marshall, Christopher Fowler and J.A. Kerley. The list could go on, but I can’t name everyone.

What movie best captures the criminal life?

Wild Bill, a depressingly realistic British film by Dexter Fletcher, well worth watching. On a more light hearted note, RocknRolla by Guy Ritchie. [Ed: a fave of mine too]

Are you a criminal mastermind or just a mild-mannered dreamer?

A dreamer, but there’s still time to become a criminal mastermind.

Twitter: @CalMarcius

Buy it at Amazon US or UK.

